About Us

Computer engineering has traditionally been viewed as a combination of both computer science (CS) and electrical engineering (EE). It has evolved over the past three decades as a separate, although intimately related, discipline. The discipline is solidly grounded in the theories and principles of computing, mathematics, science, and engineering and it applies these theories and principles to solve technical problems through the design of computing hardware, software, networks, and processes. Computer engineers are electrical engineers with additional training in the areas of software design and hardware-software integration while turning less attention on power electronics and physics. They are involved in all aspects of computing, from the design of individual microprocessors, personal computers and supercomputers, to circuit design, as well as the integration of computer systems into other kinds of systems.
Ideally, common computer engineering tasks include writing embedded software for real-time microcontrollers, working with analog sensors, and designing mixed signal circuit boards, VLSI chips and operating systems. Computer engineers are also well suited for research in the field of robotics, which relies on using computers together with other electrical systems.


1. Prof. Sanjay Misra 2010 – 2011
2. Engr. Dr. Jacob Tsado 2011 - 2012
3. Engr. Dr. Olayemi Mikail Olaniyi 2012 – 2014
4. Engr. Dr. Jonathan Gana Kolo 2014 - 2019
5. Engr. Dr James Agajo 2019 - Present



The Department of Computer Engineering is structured to become a world class academic Centre of Excellence in Computer Engineering Training and Research.

The Department of Computer Engineering will build capacity and develop human capital to high level through pragmatic and dynamic training, research and developmental services of high standards in the field of Computer Engineering that meet the demands of the society and will stand the test of time and space.

© 2016 Department of Computer Engineering, SEET, FUTMinna. Designed By ITS Web Team